Historic Gems Shed Light to Santa Fe history and culture. New Mexico travelers delight to explore the rich history Santa Fe, New Mexico is so famous for. As the days pass, todays society has the tendency to no longer valued historic cultures or traditions. Why people from past years did things the way they did or preserved traditions for future people to remember is not as interesting as the lure of social technology. Not so for NEW MEXICO travelers seeking a true historic southwest USA cultural experience! Pueblo Bonito bed and breakfast inn – Santa Fe provides the ultimate in authentic historic adobe pueblo lodging accommodations in the heart of historic downtown Santa Fe. Enjoy the following historic site recommendations to bring your next visit to historic Santa Fe, New Mexico alive with living history to create a memorable one of a kind experience. Compliments of: Pueblo Bonito bed and breakfast inn – Santa Fe.
Acequia madre: Acequias (ditches) played a critical role in the early history of Santa Fe, particularly in the Pueblo Revolt of 1680. Shortly after the founding of Santa Fe, both the acequia madre on the south side of town and the acequia de la mural/a skirting the low hills on the north were built to provide water for irrigation and the domestic needs of the community. In the Urrutia map of the 1760s, the line of the northern acequia may be traced along the early wall, or muralla, which helped fortify the city, at the approximate location of present Hillside Avenue. In the early Spanish period, water for the Palace of the Governors came from two acequias that apparently ran from La Cienega (springs) to the east. One flowed down present Palace Avenue in front of the building; the other watered gardens in the rear. By cutting off the water from these acequias, the Indians forced the Spaniards to evacuate in the Pueblo Revolt and by the same method, de Vargas drove the Indians out of the Palace in 1693. Later other acequias carried water to Church lands and adjoining properties in the city. Although little remains of the main ditch, this acequia still flows when the irrigation gates are opened. Location: Garcia and Acequia Madre streets -easy walk from Pueblo Bonito bed and breakfast inn.
Ameilia White Park: The Santa Fe Trail passed through what is now Amelia White Park. The park, now located next to the Old Santa Fe Trail, follows the path and ruts of the original trail route, whose travelers came from a variety of backgrounds. From the start, Hispanic traders made use of this two way street. From New Mexico, they traveled east over the Santa Fe Trail, just as others came west toward downtown Santa Fe. East bound travelers heading to St. Louis, New York, London, and Paris, sold raw goods from New Mexico, and purchased finished goods to sell in Santa Fe and other parts of Mexico. Amelia Elizabeth White donated this property to the City of Santa Fe. Through her philanthropy she supported preservation and helped to revitalize Spanish Colonial and Indian Arts and Crafts. Location: Corner of Old Santa Fe Trail and Camino Corrales. Nearby Museum Hill- 1 mile from Pueblo Bonito bed and breakfast inn.
Archbishop Lamy’s Chapel. A modest structure built in the foothills north of Santa Fe as a private retreat for the first bishop of New Mexico- Bishop Jean Baptiste Lamy. This private chapel is located on the grounds of Bishop’s Lodge Resort and Hotel in the Sangre de Cristo Mountains just outside downtown Santa Fe in the village of Tesuque, NM. Built in 1860, the original chapel and gardens remain much as he left them. Location: Bishop’s Lodge Resort and Hotel on Bishop’s Lodge Road. Approximately 10 min drive from Pueblo Bonito bed and breakfast inn.
Barrio de Analco (Oldest Santa Fe neighborhood). Dates back to Analco Indians of 1200’s. The seven buildings of the district represent one of the oldest clusters of what were basically working-class or lower-class residences in North America, and are in a cross-section of pre-statehood architectural styles. It includes two of the oldest colonial-era buildings in the southwest, the San Miguel Mission church (1710), and the “Oldest House”, built in 1620 and now a museum. The district was declared a National Historic Landmark in 1968. Location: E DeVargas St at Old Santa Fe Trail. Easy walk from Pueblo Bonito bed and breakfast inn.
Bataan Memorial and Museum/Library. Military memorabilia. The museum began as a tribute to the Veterans of the infamous Bataan Death March. This tribute remains and has grown into a world class display that chronicles the struggle and desperate years of the experiences of the 200th and 515th Coast Artillery regiments. You can follow the story of the 1800 brave New Mexico Soldiers through their odyssey from New Mexico, Fort Bliss, Bataan, Japan and finally of the 900 soldiers who survived confinement and returned home. Location: 1050 Old Pecos Trail. Short drive from Pueblo Bonito bed and breakfast inn.
Cathedral Basillica of St Francis. Constructed under Archbishop Jean Baptiste Lamy in 1869-86. An older church on the same site which was built in 1626, was destroyed in the 1680 Pueblo Revolt. A small chapel on the north side of the cathedral was kept from the old church This Roman Catholic cathedral is in downtown Santa Fe, New Mexico and is the mother church of the Archdiocese of Santa Fe. Influenced by the French-born Archbishop Lamy and in dramatic contrast to the surrounding adobe structures, Saint Francis Cathedral was designed in the Romanesque Revival style. As such, the cathedral features characteristic round arches separated by Corinthian columns and truncated square towers. The large rose window in front and those of the Twelve Apostles in the lateral nave windows were imported from Clermont-Ferrand in France. The towers were originally planned to be topped with dramatic 160-foot (49 m) steeples, but due to lack of funds, these were never built. The left tower is a single row of bricks taller than the right tower. The cathedral was built from yellow limestone blocks quarried near the present site of Lamy, NM. A 2005 addition to the upper facade of the cathedral is a small, round window featuring a dove, the symbol of the Holy Spirit. It is a stained glass replica of the translucent alabaster window designed in the 17th century by the Italian artist Bernini for St. Peter’s Basilica in Vatican City. The Cathedral of Saint Francis of Assisi was officially elevated to a basilica by Pope Benedict XVI on October 4, 2005, when it was named the Cathedral Basilica of Saint Francis of Assisi Location: 131 Cathedra Place – 5 minute walk from Pueblo Bonito bed and breakfast inn.
Cristo Rey Church. Built between 1939 and 1940, the church shelters the large stone reredos (sculpted religious panels used as alter screen) commissioned in 1760. The reredos was made of three pieces of easily carved white stone and decorated with impressive representations of various saints, angles, flowers and human heads, etc in the manner of certain carvings found in churches in Mexico as well as in southern Europe. The exact source of the stone is unknown but several records indicate it to be quarried from Lamy, NM. After it’s original home was demolished, the plaque was stored for nearly 100 years before being displayed here. Location: Corner of Cristo Rey and Canyon Rd